Gods: More Like People Than You Think

Well-said! Gods and spirits are a part of my community and I treat them as such – sometimes I go out to dinner with someone a few times, build a respect for them, but we just don’t click as long term friends but more like mutual acquaintances. Sometimes I build very close and intimate relationships with people (and for myself, often more than one person). Sometimes I have friends-of-friends that I like (or that make me uncomfortable so while I’ll say hi and give them hospitality I won’t go out of my way to hang out with them. All of these relationships and more can (and do) have analogues in the God work and Spirit work and devotional practice that I engage in.

The Twisted Rope

Non-physical relationships can be a real pain to figure out. There aren’t any self-help books on them, and trying to get a communication style that works well can be challenging to say the least. Due to the nature of non-physical relationships, I think it’s common for people to flail and get scared when they need to figure out how to handle some of the bumps that normal relationships can take. You know the ones:

  • I think I made my god angry. How do I tell?
  • I know I made my god angry. How do I fix it?
  • How do I tell if this god is giving me the cold shoulder?
  • I don’t think my relationship with this god is working anymore. How do I end the relationship?
  • I haven’t been talking with the gods recently. Are they upset?

The truth of the matter is, regardless of whether your relationship is…

View original post 1,591 more words

Leave a Reply

